Article Index

Inside the Historic Church of St. Patrick



Outside the Historic Church of St. Patrick 

This cross, dedicated to Margaret Hays Tank, the major benefactor of the various reconstruction projects, sits outside of the church in the new Memorial Garden. The bricks that surround the statue and make up the garden are inscribed with the names of parishioners and nine of the Priests who have served the Historic Church of St. Patrick.

All images were taken by Greg Johnson

Pastors of St. Patrick's (1862-Present)

Term               Pastors
1862-1902       Very Rev. Edward A. Hannin
1903-1922       Rev. James P. McCloskey
1922-1935       Rev. Francis J. Keyes
1935-1968       Rev. Edmind J. Connolly
1968-1981       Msgr. Jerome E Schmit
1981-1990       Rev. John A. Thomas
1990-1991       Rev. Thomas J. Gordon
1991-1997       Rev. Richard J. Saelzer
1997-2005       Very Rev. Michael R. Billian, VE
2005-Present    Rev. Dennis P. Hartigan

Bibliography and Thanks

Thanks to Deacon Tom Carone, Father Dennis Hartigan, Margaret Myers for her excellent resources on the history of the church, the parishioners of Historic St. Patrick's Church, Anna Ryan, and the clergy of the Church of the Immaculate Conception in Ballymote, Ireland.

Thanks also to Mike Cora and Irene Martin of the Toledo Lucas County Public Library.


Porter, Tana Mosier. "Toledo Profile: A Sesquicentennial History." Toledo Sesquicentennial Commission. Toledo, OH. 1987.

Sarabia, Mary L. "Father Edward Hannin: The Growth and Development of an Ethnic Parish in the Lower Great Lakes." (PhD Dissertation, University of Toledo, 1986)."

St. Patrick's Historic Church Collection, 1862-1935," Toledo Lucas County Public Library. (Boxes 1-4 and OS 9).

WGTE Public Broadcasting. "Cornerstones: The Irish in Toledo." WGTE. 1996. 45min.
Contact Information for St. Patrick's Church

Location: 130 Avondale Avenue, Toledo, Ohio 43604
General Phone: 419-243-6452
Church Bulletins:
Liturgy Schedule:

St. Patrick's Parish Leaders     

Pastor: Reverend Dennis P. Hartigan, Ph.D.
In residence: Reverend Monsignor Christopher P. Vasko
Deacon: Deacon Thomas S. Carone
Pastoral Associate: Mr. David Smith
Business Manager: Ms. Trish Shaffer
Secretary: Ms. Sherri Gaudet
Maintenance: John Carone
Organist: Mr. Terry Brassell
Music Coordinator: Mrs. Katherine Bishop-Brassell
Choir Director: Mr. Steve Kwiatkowski

Toledo's Attic and all contents herein are to be used for educational and scholarly purposes. U.S. and international copyright laws protect digital contents in this collection. Commercial use or distribution of the image is not permitted without prior permission of the copyright holder. Toledo's Attic by is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License. Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at